RSS

When I Grow Up

16 Mar

We spend our entire childhood telling people, time and time again, what we want to be when we grow up. Some of us manage to land a literal career in the field we dreamed of joining, while some of us function in our dream jobs in a more abstract capacity. For example, I have a friend that wanted to be a teacher her entire life. She earned a Bachelors degree in Education, but has not yet put the teachings and theories into formal practice. What she has done, and has ALWAYS been good at, is teaching adults and young people through mentorship, conversations in the beauty shop, and friendship; ultimately, she IS a teacher.

Today’s society is full of professionals that decided to create a box for their dreams when there was no box OR, better yet, to validate and reshape the box(es) that already exist. I say validate and reshape because I strongly believe that at a point and time there used to be more opportunities for people with non-traditional training and multiple skill sets. (I am one of those people.)

Over the years, I wanted to be a pediatrician to save all of the children; then I wanted to be a lawyer; then I wanted to be a social justice activist in third world countries; then I wanted to be a journalist; then I wanted to start a non-for-profit that empowered Chicago’s youth; then I wanted to own a chain of community theatres in areas where arts opportunities were lacking; then I wanted to be a playwright and a poet; THEN, I realized, I could DO what all of these things centered around– Serving underserved communities with creativity through a skill set that would lead to sustainable improvements.

As I search for jobs, there is no title or job description that encompasses ALL of me! So, right now, today, unemployed and all, I am creating my own career and I am 100% sure it will sustain me. I’m only hoping no one asks me what I want to be when I grow up…..

Below is a link to a blog that talks about the importance of pursuing multiple passions.

http://blogs.forbes.com/work-in-progress/2011/03/03/the-case-for-pursuing-multiple-passions/

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
