RSS

Weight Loss Update- S.M.A.R.T. Planning

27 Mar

So….I should have lost 2 pounds this week according to my S.M.A.R.T. plan.

Hmmmm, let me reflect on what I have done so far to make this happen.

1-    I have opted for walking to the store, bank, or other locations in walking distance, weather permitting.
2-    I have taken the stairs up to my 12th floor apartment two times this week.
3-    I have actively and HONESTLY been keeping track of my eating and exercise habits with my free account on mynetdiary.com.
4-    I have been drinking more water, thus not buying pop to keep in the house.
5-    I have cooked and/or ate leftovers on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday.
6-    When I wanted a snack, I made a homemade smoothie instead by using only yogurt, soy milk, and strawberries.

Now, here are all of the things that I SHOULD not have done as I am working towards my S.M.A.R.T. weight loss plan.

1-    I snuck in some burger king WITH a pop.
2-    I only exercised on my elliptical for 10 minutes.
3-    I have not cooked or purchased any green vegetables.
4-    I have had SEVERAL alcoholic beverages during pre-game and a fun gal’s night out.
5-    I also had all you can eat fried chicken wings at a bar in Wrigleyville.

So…..At least the good habits are winning (This is what I tell myself. As I am finishing this post I am going on the elliptical for at least 10 minutes).

One important thing that I have not consistently made time to do is to visualize the weight loss. When I told my acupuncturist that I wanted to lose weight, she told me to meditate and visualize the weight being removed from my body and to think of my body as a machine that works to push the weight through and out. Of course she mentioned exercise and diet, but our discussion primarily revolved around vision.

I asked my poetry mentor for some advice about his path to spoken word greatness and he explained to me that he visualized what he wanted every step of the way. He knew what he wanted his life path to look like three months out, five years out, etc.

Both the acupuncturist AND poet mentioned vision as the key factor for two of my current goals. Vision(ary) seems to be the word of the week for my blog.

This week, I am going to continue my positive steps toward weight loss as listed above and I will add 5 minutes of VISION planning to my S.M.A.R.T weight loss plan.

Below is a link to a humorous story about weight loss. Enjoy!

http://www.onlyfunnystories.com/Weight_Loss_Plan.asp

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
