RSS

Keep It Simple- Form A Habit

12 Apr
Zen Habits Logo

Image via Wikipedia

This week has been a tough week in weight loss land. I have lacked motivation. I cannot put my finger on what is blocking me from exercising. Although it has challenged me, it has not been all bad, however.

I have been consistently logging my meals on mynetdiary.com; I have included green vegetables in many of the meals I’ve cooked; And for the most part, I have completed my daily 5 minutes of envisioning my weight loss, as referenced in my entry, (https://ashleyscwalls.wordpress.com/page/6/).

Although some aspects of what I am doing work well, I think something is missing. As positive as I am about working toward your goals, I must fully acknowledge that there will be stumbling blocks that we cannot put our finger on. In this case, I think habit is a possible solution.

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act, but a habit.”- Aristotle

Habits are routines of behavior that is repeated regularly and tend to occur subconsciously, without one’s directly thinking consciously about them. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Habit_(psychology)

Leo Babauta is the writer of Zen Habits, a blog that focuses on living a simple and uncluttered life. Babauta states that to form a habit you should set your goal or task to be extremely simple and easy. This supports suggestions from my previous entry, “Connecting S.M.A.R.T. Goals to Your Life Plan” (https://ashleyscwalls.wordpress.com/page/8/). But it wasn’t until I read Babatua’s blog that I realized just how much intention and time are required to meet your goals.

Recap of what I have learned so far:

  • Identify an area/situation of your life you want to work on
  • Evaluate your current actions as it relates to the identified situation
  • Create a S.M.A.R.T. goal to improve/ eliminate the situation
  • Describe your life as you envision it once you have achieved your resolve
  • Think about an action or HABIT that would help resolve your situation
  • Add the habit to your daily routine- KEEP IT SIMPLE
  • Monitor your habit

–                  Keep a written account or chart that allows you to track whether or not you have completed your habit as prescribed.

I highly urge you to start simple. Something as routine as hanging up your coat or clothes at the end of each day can become habit-forming.

Below is a link to Leo Babauta blog on “How to Start Something New”.

http://zenhabits.net/begin/#more-7774

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Keep It Simple- Form A Habit

  1. K. SIDNEY

    April 17, 2011 at 8:24 am

    ZEN HABITS has been one of my go-to sites for motivation for years now. Glad to see you found them out. I don’t know why I didn’t recommend ’em.

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      April 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      I am very glad that I was able to find it. The website has some simple tips about ways to improve the productivity and quality of your life.

       

Leave a Reply

 
