RSS

When to Regret

15 Apr
When to Regret

Regret:

To feel sorrow or remorse for

A sense of loss or disappointment, dissatisfaction, etc.

So far I have lived a life of few regrets. Not because of the normal clichés that “everything happens for a reason”, or “I wouldn’t have been here today if I would have chose differently”, but purely for the fact that I have applied for, and pursued everything I decided I wanted with 100% audacity. Whether or not I was rejected or the plan changed once accepted, I have never backed down from trying to obtain something that I felt was in my best interest to explore.

I am not a person that waits until the last-minute to do many things. I also don’t get a rush when pulling an all-nighter or putting together some important project at the last-minute. I am a planner, and I plan to succeed.

My work ethic, therefore, allows me to state clichés such as “everything happens for a reason”, and that “my life is going in the path it is supposed to”, with confidence. Often, too many people use these clichés to exclude themselves from regret.

I think that it is humbling to admit to regret, and furthermore, empowering. By accepting that you would have done something different, you can learn from your action(s) and fully embrace the steps to never do them again.

An example of something you SHOULD regret: You say that you really REALLY want to attend a workshop. You have to complete an essay in order to be selected as an attendee. You decide to begin your first draft of the paper the night before the deadline.

If you do not get accepted, you SHOULD regret your last-minute planning.

Another example of something you SHOULD regret: You lose all or most of your rent money gambling. Your friends and family have to pitch in to help pay your rent.

You SHOULD regret your impulse spending.

While driving under the influence you receive a DUI. Following the conviction, you have to spend hundreds of dollars repairing your driving credit. You can no longer afford to send your children to the tutoring or after school programs in which they take part.

You SHOULD regret your irresponsible behavior.

No, these are not examples of life changing events, but they are the actions that build the trail to your milestones. You don’t have to regret the outcome, but you should not continue to excuse actions that are hindering your progress……they become habits.

Please provide some examples of decisions, choices, and/or behavior that people SHOULD regret.

Below is a link to an article that discusses decision-making processes and how to live a life with no (fewer) regrets.

http://mantonadvisory.com/blog/are-you-on-a-path-of-no-regrets/

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “When to Regret

  1. K. SIDNEY

    April 17, 2011 at 8:26 am

    Damn. This one really hit home for me. I know I have some bad habits that hinder certain types of goals that I have. I need to write a song about this…

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      April 17, 2011 at 1:37 pm

      As I was attempting to do more research on the topic, I found little information that said anything other than “don’t regret”. I think overall in todays society, we are too excusing of less than acceptable behavior, therefore excluding ourselves from punishment and ultimatly deciding that everything we do is “right”. I will probably approach this topic again in the future from a variety of angles, as it is so many discussions that stem from the concept of regret.

      I can’t wait to hear the song. Few people do it like you can K.SIDNEY!

       
  2. Measha

    April 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    now while i wont come up with and excuses, because when it all comes down to it I’m broke because of myself lol, i don’t know if its a college thing or its just me but I’m am terrible with spending. I DON’T gamble but I think because I’ve always had a job or money has always been given to me i feel like its ok to spend it whenever i want to , BUT thats not good at all. The rent is my current issue and this time is because i simply cant say no to those in need, family or friends (real friends) if they need it bad and i have it , its theres …..but now the tables have turned and i some what so regret it because those same ones i helped out have no way to help me…..it can also be a simple lesson learned and i just have to keep my faith that i will receive a financial blessing from some where sometime soon lol. What can i say its just the Virgo thing to do #helpingout

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      April 22, 2011 at 7:50 pm

      I really like the way you worded this (virgo thing). I am extremely giving as well and have begun to realize exactly what you stated that friends sometimes “have no way to help me”. With that being the case, I only give what I can afford to not have returned.

      Also, while I was in college, I was always receiving an extra blessing or taking out an additional student loan, or the U of I loan, or some family member would send me money at the most unexpected time. I have been very used to living paycheck to paycheck, but have finally accepted that this MUST come to an end. Save up for rainy days and spend less than what you have.

      Ill be checking on you soon, as I know it will work out!

       
  3. Measha

    April 27, 2011 at 10:26 am

    Just now reading this lol but I haven’t spent a penny since I posted this, its actually not as hard as I thought.

     

Leave a Reply

 
