RSS

My Priorities- ASCW Life Plan (part 1)

18 Apr
The Cheshire Cat

Image by Profound Whatever via Flickr

One day Alice came to a fork in the road and saw a Cheshire cat in a tree. “Which road do I take?” she asked. “Where do you want to go?” was his response. “I don’t know,” Alice answered. “Then,” said the cat, “it doesn’t matter.” 

– Louis Carroll

I am extremely excited about the progress that I have made on penning my Life Plan. The process has challenged me and I think that as each quarter comes and goes, my plan will grow as I begin to train and develop myself to become the heart of the person described in each outcome.

The process of thinking through and ranking my target audience in the order of importance was powerful.

Target Audiences (in order of priority)

1) God

2) Significant Other

3) Children

4) Family (not children)

5) Friends

6) Community (local, regional, national, international)

7) Co-collaborators

This part of the exercise alone led to immediate changes in how I have started spending my time. For years, I thought that work was my priority, and that by having a stable career, the other things would eventually fall into place.

I will not lie. I did originally list work as a category before God. This made me uncomfortable and I had to reflect on why my priorities are perceived as such. It is because I was being honest about how my time is now spent on spirituality versus other components of my life. I was able to change the order once I accepted that my life plan is about the direction I am headed, not where I am.

You may also notice that the word work is not on my list at all. In a few of my earlier posts, I mention the importance of having a unified language that represents your purpose. As I was drafting my plan, I grasped that the language I use in my plan needs to be specific enough for me to visualize how I related to each category physically, mentally, and emotionally. As I move forward, I do not anticipate being tied to one company. I am also confident that collaboration will continue as the crux of my “work”, hence the title co-collaborators.

My “work” will impact community, ultimately locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally. Have you ever heard the term “busy work”? No one can say she’s just doing “busy community” or “she’s just doing “busy impacting”.

Side note: Work at times can become very task-oriented instead of, goal-oriented. As you can see, I focus on the latter.

This is the first entry leading to the reveal of my life plan. If you have not started drafting your plan, begin with this step and then pay close attention to your actions during the week that follows. Revisit your target audience priority list to see if your current actions align with what you wrote.

Please know that life will throw a curve ball that will change your plans. This should be expected. Adjust accordingly and do not get discouraged.

Below is a link that provides questions you may want to ask yourself while working on your life plan.

http://www.pluginid.com/setting-priorities/

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “My Priorities- ASCW Life Plan (part 1)

  1. K. SIDNEY

    April 19, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I’m still working on getting my priorities in order. They always seem to change. Getting better though. Good article!

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      April 19, 2011 at 11:12 pm

      Your plans should change but not haphazardly. That is why the Life Plan is so important. It is easy for us to keep changing priorities as things arise, but the Plan is the map that keeps us focused. I will be writing an article soon that discusses the difference between important and urgent. I will keep you posted!

      Thanks for reading.

       

Leave a Reply

 
