RSS

Success Formula: Jennifer Chaney

20 Apr
J.Chaney, CEO of Events by J. Ashley

I am searching for success formulas. 

Today’s social media allows us to have access to millions of people living their equation of success. As I surf twitter and facebook, I have grown intrigued with learning how others balance their goals, social life, image, and more. I have decided to get to know multi-faceted individuals that balance community and self-development. 

Recently I interviewed Jennifer Chaney, CEO of Events by J. Ashley. Chaney works full-time in the corporate world, but has recently made time to capitalize on her passions by starting her own event planning company.

I chose to spotlight Jennifer Chaney because of her subtle social media initiatives. 

While learning more about branding myself, Jennifer’s newsfeeds on facebook caught my attention in a positive way. Regularly Jennifer’s status would come across my screen saying “Contact Jennifer Chaney at Events by J.Ashley for your event planning needs”. More importantly, Jennifer’s other statuses, were always positive and friendly, congratulating a friend, or sharing a focused message of determination.

Headed for success, I needed to know more about the method to this young woman’s madness, i.e. success formula.

After reflecting on my earlier entries I created my questions for Jennifer. I am eager to see if those I equate with success are doing the same or similar things as me. I also felt that if they were not, these interviews will serve as the perfect opportunity for me to help develop them- MY SPECIALITY.

I am happy to know that Jennifer does have a written life plan and that she is well on her way to achieving her goals. When I asked Jennifer what prompted her to organize Events by J. Ashley at this time, she said, “when is the perfect time?”

Jennifer Chaney expressed that being a business owner is not easy. “I had to complete all the legal aspects including insurance, tax ID, filing my business with the secretary of state and making sure that my company name is trademarked. My name is on this and I need to protect my investment”.  Jennifer has more goals for her full-time gig as well, including taking on additional leadership in the company, and ultimately becoming a Relationship Manager.

It is motivating to see a person that has good balance between her current career and personal aspirations. So often, people pursue self employment when unhappy about a situation instead of as an enhancement or extension to their occupation. Jennifer has allowed her first career choice to develop and extend skills that will increase her ability to operate a sustainable event planning business.

With so much going on, Jennifer still makes time to serve the community by volunteering with the Night Ministry, a Chicago non-profit providing necessities and health supplies to people in need (http://www.thenightministry.org/). Capitalizing on her skills as an accountant, she helps coordinate life skills workshops for high school students. The workshops guide participants through the steps of budgeting including grocery shopping, affordable rent, and leisurely spending from the perspective of the job/ career they choose. Jennifer shares these activities with members of her family, hoping to prepare her relatives that will soon be in college or seeking employment, for the real world.

Jennifer Chaney’s Success Formula= Parents+ God+ Giving + Detailed Event Planning with a Passion.

Over the next 3 months, we will be following Jennifer Chaney on facebook and twitter to learn more about her S.M.A.R.T. goals as described below.

More on Jennifer Chaney

S.M.A.R.T. Goals

2 events booked by July 15, 2011; Book launch party date for Events by J.Ashley website by July 15, 2011

Personal Strengths

Attention to detail; Effective Time Management

My Favorite Quote from the Interview

“On time is early”

Contact Info

Jennifer Chaney- CEO of Events by J.Ashley; Jennifer@eventsbyjashley.com

Update 6.2.11- From Jennifer Chaney

My website is complete (www.eventsbyjashley.com). I have 4 potential events on the calendar, and my company launch & networking event is scheduled for June 17th. So far everything is going well.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Success Formula: Jennifer Chaney

  1. Erika

    April 20, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    This is a very nice article, I look forward to seeing the growth of Events by J. Ashley and the growth of Ashley Wall’s Blog! Way to go!!!

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      April 20, 2011 at 1:27 pm

      Thank you Erica!
      I am looking forward to both as well. Be sure to share the article with others you know. I will be doing more stories on success formula’s and follow up’s in the near future.

       
  2. shavon

    April 20, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    kudos! i wish you both much success 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
