RSS

Life Preparedness Kit

22 Apr
While looking at some articles on emergency preparedness kits, I began to think about life preparedness. My friend and I have recently discovered that the types of lifestyles and career choices we are seeking to embark upon require readiness at all times, and for a variety of occasions.

For example, she wants to be a singer and often people request her attendance at networking social’s and workshop’s at the last-minute. As her creative vision is spreading, people ask her to sing regularly and both of us have been caught without business cards when asked “how can I contact you later?”

These occurrences have me thinking that I need to create a checklist of items that I must have with me at all times- My Life Preparedness Kit.

With the facts in mind (poet, playwright, director, actress, consultant for non-profits, youth developer, collaborator, blogger, and activist), I have created a checklist for my life preparedness kit:

  • Business casual clothes and shoes to match– If I am ever out and about and need to go to a professional event or meeting, I am ready!!!!!
  • Business cards that include my twitter, blog, facebook, and email contacts with an about me section– Although taking out your cell phone or sending your contact card electronically is efficient, the business card can serve as a visual reminder to the individual of you and your skills. I support the green initiative, but not at the risk of a potential client or collaborator forgetting about me.
  • Club/ going out clothes with shoes to match– I do not want to have on my sexy dress and be stuck in tennis shoes or something worse…..(probably wouldn’t even be able to get into the club).
  • Notebook and pen– Writing and capturing ideas are a huge part of what I do. For some people a cell phone or recorder may work, but for me, the act of writing with pen on paper actually helps my ideas flow best.
  • My poetry on CD– Although I do not have a poetry CD, I will. And when I do, I must be prepared to sell my work to my fans or an interested individual.
  • A book to read– My goals require me to stay abreast of literary works. Keeping a book with me at all times allows me to catch up on reading when ever in a situation where I am in limbo or waiting.
  • Cell phone charger– I often get caught without a charger, especially when using my GPS on the way to say, an interview (Yep, it has happened to me). I find myself spending a lot of time in the car, and therefore, it is extremely important that I can stay connected to the world….and find where I am trying to go.
  • Calendar (can be on cell phone) – Scheduling is a part of planning, planning is a part of success, and I plan to succeed.
  • One monologue and two poems– Although these are all memorized, I can perform these pieces on request without hesitation.
  • Twenty bucks in cash– After going several places without cash, I am convinced that I must always keep at least twenty dollars in cash with me at all times.

I do always keep a first aid kit in my car, therefore I am prepared for natural disasters AND the life I want to live. Are you?

Your Life Preparedness Kit  is to be reflective of your goals. Think about tangible and intangibles as part of your kit.

What is in your Life Preparedness Kit?

I also encourage people to think about emergency preparedness so below is an article about preparing your disaster kit.

http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/health/preparing-a-disaster-kit-2467090/

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Life Preparedness Kit

  1. K. SIDNEY

    April 22, 2011 at 11:47 am

    I would put down what I have as a preparedness kit, but I don’t want to incriminate myself. Ha!

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      April 22, 2011 at 11:52 am

      Well. as long as you have what you need to achieve your goals is all that matters. Just be prepared. Be prepared with your next verse, for your album photo shoot, for the criticism, etc. BE PREPARED for the life you want to live.

       
  2. Marilyn

    April 22, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    In my kit- A Smartphone- saved my impromptu performance yday to look up lyrics! 🙂

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      April 23, 2011 at 2:26 am

      Great use! I cannot wait to hear more about what you add to your kit. Future superstar.

       

Leave a Reply

 
