RSS

Unique Spaces for Making Progress

04 May

From mrdouglaswood.wordpress.com

What is unique about your creative process?

For years, I have had jobs that required me to travel long distances to work, atleast forty minutes each day. After getting fed up with the radio playing songs on repeat and an inoperable car CD player, I began using my morning and evening drives to and from work as a time for meditation. 

Praying was how I made the most of these lengthy drives. I enjoyed my personal time; reflecting on the day’s successes and challenges was a must. I was working in stressful positions that forced me to interact with people soaking in negative energy and taxing personal situations. I needed to immediately cleanse myself of colleagues and clients energy. 

The prayer and meditation led me to begin creating spoken word pieces on the way home. Since eight years old, I have written poetry, but while driving, words were delivered to me and I would memorize each verse. 

One of my best spoken word pieces came to me. There is a particular section of the poem I can only remember when I am in the car. I have been unaware of this part of the poem anytime I am outside of the car, until now. 

My car is a poetry portal.

Recently I decided to start working on my spoken word pieces again. As I practiced my poetry in the car, this ghost verse started flowing and I was taken aback. I said it a few more times while in the car and thought I had it! A few weeks later I recorded the poem without any recollection of the ghost verse. It wasn’t until I was in the car practicing it again that the verse re-surfaced and I realized what was happening. 

My car is a poetry portal. There, words transform into poetry into life changing anthems for those that choose to listen.

Long story short, I want to know about your unique surroundings and spaces that push you to discover, create, and improve your talents and purpose. Please share in the comment section, you may inspire others.

Below is a link to a blog that lists 55 ways to find your hidden talents. Even if you have already identified a talent, you may discover more. 

http://www.toiletpaperentrepreneur.com/the-right-actions/how-to-find-your-hidden-talent

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Unique Spaces for Making Progress

  1. K. SIDNEY

    May 5, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I can create anywhere as long as I got my headphones on. It used to be I couldn’t write in the house because of the distractions (i.e. computer, video games, phone, etc), but I overcame my environmental needs by just writing any and everywhere everyday. Unfortunately for me, I tend to zone out a lot when I’m supposed to be paying attention to my current surroundings, but you already knew that about me. It’s a double-edge sword.

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      May 5, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      I have noticed that since I have started blogging I write everyday. The more I write, the less my surroundings distract me. I do need quiet when I edit though, which is the icing on the cake before publishing.

      I can definitely agree that the more you do something, the better you can execute it concisely under distracting circumstances.

      Thanks for sharing a piece of your creative process Keith!

       

Leave a Reply

 
