RSS

Adjust Tactics to Fit Your Life Settings

06 May
Adjust Tactics to Fit Your Life Settings

One size does not fit all.

I will not get into the science of weight loss, I hear something new everyday.  Eat whole grains, stay away from whole grains; Don’t eat meat, meat is great for you….Too much for me to process.

What I have done is realistically assess my lifestyle to see how and why it has been difficult for me to lose weight in spite of my efforts.

The S.M.A.R.T goal that I set for myself was to lose 25 pounds by June 20, 2011. (https://ashleyscwalls.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/connecting-s-m-a-r-t-goals-to-your-life-plan/)

Making no excuses, I have only lost 6 pounds since March 23rd. I now see that there were factors to my weight loss plan I had not considered.

Working from home means that I am moving a lot less than when I was working in an office. I also have more access to snacks.

Adjusting to my new inactive schedule, I accept that I need to make the following changes to see greater weight loss improvements:

1-     Exercise two times a day. While working in an office, even in an administrative position, I was able to burn more calories. Walking to the copy machine, walking to another office to interact with co-workers, leaving the office for lunch breaks, meetings, and in my case overseeing three school sites, all contributed to daily calorie burning.

2-     Get more sleep. I am a night owl, but I also find myself waking up pretty early. On average I am awake approximately 18 hours a day. I try to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with maybe a snack in between. But unfortunately, around midnight, I usually begin to crave more food. I believe that if I sleep longer, I will avoid the desire to keep eating.

3-     The Pomodoro TechniqueThe Pomodoro Technique® is a way to get the most out of time management. Turn time into a valuable ally to accomplish what we want to do and chart continuous improvement in the way we do it. The basic unit of work in the Pomodoro Technique® can be split in five simple steps:

  • Choose a task to be accomplished
  • Set the Pomodoro to 25 minutes (the Pomodoro is the timer)
  • Work on the task until the Pomodoro rings, then put a check on your sheet of paper
  • Take a short break (5 minutes is OK)
  • Every 4 Pomodoros take a longer break

I discovered this technique on the blog, Freestyle Mind. The blogger Oscar recommends cleaning, exercising, stretching, walking outside, and shadow boxing during each break.

Because I do not want to introduce too many tactics at one time, I am going to stick with these three adjustments over the next month, really commiting to Oscars suggestions during my breaks. I will check in again regarding my weight loss at the end of May/early June.

It is easy to be discouraged and give up, but it is usually best to analyze various factors in the situation first. If you are having trouble reaching your S.M.A.R.T. goal(s), dig a little deeper and think about what is truly holding you back from your achievable results. Remember to adjust your goal and your timeline once you identify all factors.

Below is an entry from a blog that focuses on 12 Critical Things You Should Never Tolerate. I chose this article because the suggestions may help your recognize obstacles that are preventing you from tackling your S.M.A.R.T. goals. http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1vSkEg/www.pickthebrain.com/blog/12-critical-things-you-should-never-tolerate

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Adjust Tactics to Fit Your Life Settings

  1. akmar nordin

    May 8, 2011 at 11:04 am

    I LOVE The Pomodoro technique – will def’ try this out. tx for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
