RSS

Success Formula: Percy Ollie Jr.

16 May
Success Formula: Percy Ollie Jr.

His tweets, his Facebook statuses, and our interview, confirmed my assumptions; Percy Ollie Jr., better known as PJ, ALWAYS puts God first.

I am intrigued by PJ as a Success Formula because he radiates positive energy and kindness. Everyone that I know likes PJ. They enjoy his humble personality, subtle humor, and that he ALWAYS has a camera ready to capture once in a lifetime moments.

Photography is about more than taking pictures for the young entrepreneur; it allows PJ to give back to his community. As a photographer, PJ captures every day people’s lives while being able to shoot a variety of community events that focus on children and family.

With a formal degree in finance, PJ works with others to help them financially as they strive to achieve their life goals. He is a board member of the Young Men’s Educational Network and makes it a priority to actively participate in programs that give back to youth. PJ’s idea of community development involves personal growth that allows one to add to, and “encourage the younger generation”.

As a young person, PJ’s community invested in him. PJ first learned about life planning in 7th grade while attending the Christian camp, Kids Across America (KAA). It was at KAA that PJ was nominated to become a member of the “Im Third” program.The founding principles of the “I’m Third” program were- God first, others second, and I’m third. PJ’s life plans focus on these principles and he reviews his written life plans annually, revising his one-year, three-year, and five-year plans to enhance the success and challenges of the previous.

Although exposed to life planning early on, PJ admits to becoming more serious about the action planning of his goals during junior year of college, when his parents reminded him that his lifeline to their financial pockets would soon end. PJ says, “I started envisioning myself in the places I wanted to be and started to surround myself with people that were doing what I wanted to do. It really got real once I stopped getting help from my parents.”

On a weekly basis, PJ’s website is filled with new and timeless photographs. He is definitely one of the hardest working people I know. Working towards his goals from last year, he has successfully found ways to decrease his time with clients by delivering more quality products on the front-end, having to make fewer adjustments later. PJ is strategically planning for the growth of his business, Ollie Photography, by growing and mentoring a team of photographers.

During our interview I was able to find out about the work practices and habits that are leading to his increased notoriety. When asked about overcoming procrastination, PJ proudly responded, “I have 17 nieces and nephews. They watch everything I do. I cannot fail. I have too many people depending on me. The little ones are always looking for me to be the example. A lot of my nieces and nephews do not have father figures so I fulfill this role. They will ask me questions if they see me slacking. I do not have the option of failing.”

Reading the bible every morning is part of his daily routine. PJ also strives to live a balanced life by exercising three or more times a week and eating healthy meals as well as talking to family/friends regularly. He also feels that is it crucial to have a companion or loved one to provide regular feedback on the progress and outcomes of your goals.

When I asked PJ what was his greatest asset, he said “My belief in God. I don’t think anything reaches close to that. I believe that from having a personal relationship with God I have been able to make good on my talents and the relationships I have been able to establish. My commitment to this belief is my greatest asset.”

I most admire PJ’s respect for relationships. He ALWAYS interacts with people in a congenial fashion, thus leading to unprecedented success by word of mouth.

Percy Ollie Jr.’s Success Formula = God first + Relationship building + Acceptance of responsibility to his family

More on Percy Ollie Jr. (PJ)

What is in your life preparedness kit?

  • Cell phone, because my bible and my devotionals are on my cell phone as well as the internet, my calendar, and email (which is basically how I manage my business); multiple cameras.

Do you have any regrets?

  • NONE. I really think everything is a learning lesson. Prepare for whatever it is you want to do in life. Always be prepared.

S.M.A.R.T. goals

  • Read the bible in 365 days beginning Sunday May 8th 2011- May 8th 2012
  • Add 1 new photographer and an intern to photography team by the end of 2011
  • Launch new website by the close of 2011

Contact Information

Percy Ollie, Jr. of Ollie Photography, Inc www.olliephotography.com

Update 7.11.11- From Percy Ollie Jr.

  1. I’m delayed on my SMART goal of completing my bible in 365 day. I am currently only on day 7 so, I’m about 2-3 weeks behind. The good news I’ve done the hardest part of getting started and I plan on picking up momentum to get caught up. Additionally, I’ve began 2 other devotionals that are assisting with my understanding.
  2. Still in search of additional photographer
  3. I have 1 intern secured and in the process of allocating responsibilities
    Additionally, I have 2 other potential candidates
  4. I last worked on the content for my new webpage about 2 weeks ago so, I haven’t been as progressive as I would like to be in order to reach my goal. This week I will be creating a new plan to track my progress so, that I’m able to stay ahead of schedule.
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

34 responses to “Success Formula: Percy Ollie Jr.

  1. Marilyn

    May 16, 2011 at 9:17 am

    As one who has had several opportunity to see PJ in Action. I can attest to his Excellence! KEEP up the Good Work Percy!

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      May 16, 2011 at 10:39 am

      Marilyn,

      Thanks for commenting and supporting PJ, especially since he captured some great photos at your birthday party. Also, thanks for reading!

       
    • PJ

      May 16, 2011 at 12:01 pm

      Thanks Marilyn…I totally appreciate your encouraging words and support. I’m looking forward to capturing some priceless moments at your upcoming class reunion.

       
  2. Jennifer Liggett

    May 16, 2011 at 10:25 am

    This is a well-written article that touched ALL basis of PJ…Great job Ashley. Great job PJ, love you both!

     
    • PJ

      May 16, 2011 at 12:02 pm

      BIG THANKS to my secret weapon and counselor!!! Thanks for always holding me accountable…

       
  3. Jack E

    May 16, 2011 at 11:46 am

    PJ, it’s so encouraging to see you blossom and grow in your faith and your life goals. I’m praying for you all the way. Go, go, go!!!!!

     
    • PJ

      May 16, 2011 at 12:05 pm

      Thanks Jack E! have a LOONG way to go but I’m definitely making an effort to take the 1st step toward God and my goals.

       
  4. Cicely Barber

    May 16, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    PJ, I can personally attest to the outstanding quality of work and your ability to capture every moment. Keep Up the Great Work!!

     
    • PJ

      May 16, 2011 at 12:20 pm

      Thanks Cece…I’m glad I’ve been able to live up to the name I’ve created for myself. Thanks for commenting!

       
  5. michele

    May 16, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Excellent article on a excellent example for entreprenuers and young people alike! #teamPeeJay 🙂 P.S. Anyone who knows Peejay knows that he LOVES those neices & nephews. Great guy!

     
    • PJ

      May 16, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      Thanks Michele…pray-fully my nieces and nephews follow close to my footsteps. Someone has to inherit the business right!

       
  6. Ladoris Jackson

    May 16, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    NICE article Ashley….Percy has definately touched many with just one hand. Can’t believe the guy I met in undergrad has developed into a God fearing man with a household name right before my eyes! Keep God first Ollie and you will exceed all our high expectations!

     
    • PJ

      May 16, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      Thanks L. Jackson for believing in me from the beginning… The person that I am developing into is partially the result of the people I call my family/friends.

       
  7. EmpowerMoments - Take a MOMENT daily to EMPOWER you

    May 16, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    This is a wonderful article! PJ is such a wonderful person. I only met him a few months ago when he shot my birthday party but I knew then that he was serious about his God and his work. And his initial email with all of the details about his services was so professional so I knew he was serious about photography. His inspirational quotes and references to the Most High let me know he was serious about God. Keep up the great work PJ! And thanks for sharing Ashley!

     
    • PJ

      May 16, 2011 at 4:37 pm

      Thanks a lot for the kind words Kristen…I was wondering who Empower Moments was. See you in church on Thurs or Sunday

       
  8. Tiffany Parks

    May 16, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    I LOVED THIS ARTICLE about Mr. Ollie. Over the last year PJ and I have become really good friends. The article definitely describe the type of man he is; he is very down to earth, has a positive attitude at all times, and ALWAYS ALWAYS put God first. I am so proud of you PJ you are a great person and great friend.

     
    • PJ

      May 17, 2011 at 10:36 am

      Thanks Tiff…I’m glad that we have had a chance to get to know each other over the past year or so. I also hope that I can continue to have a positive impact on your life and I will definitely continue to keep God first. In the instance that I don’t be sure to hold me accountable.

      Shout to Ashley Walls for another well written article!

       
  9. Keela

    May 16, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Ashley, you did a MARVELOUS job with this article. PJ, your story is great! I’m so happy for you. Can’t wait to see how many more paragraphs can be added in a few years. 🙂

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      May 16, 2011 at 3:20 pm

      THANKS Keela! That means more than you know coming from you.

       
  10. EmpowerMoments - Take a MOMENT daily to EMPOWER you

    May 16, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Oh and I failed to sign my name..but this is Kristen Harris
    🙂 Thanks again!

     
  11. Michael Trout

    May 16, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    PJ is an example of what is right with African-American men these days. He has taken the initiative, be has welcomed the investment of others in his life, and he looks to be a blessing in the lives of others. PJ desires to invest in the next generation therefore providing significant returns on the investment that has been made in his life. We are not ourselves …. by ourselves. It is our community which makes us strong. I, for one, feel our community is stronger because of Percy Ollie. But please don’t tell him I told you this 🙂 we want to keep him humble. An I the only one to think he sounds a lot like Derrick Rose?

     
    • PJ

      May 17, 2011 at 10:51 am

      Thanks for reading over this article all your kind words Mike. I’ve learned and continue to learn so much from you as it relates to staying faithful and obedient to God.

       
  12. P. Liggett

    May 17, 2011 at 7:36 am

    Thanks Ashley, great article. P J is a special person.

     
    • PJ

      May 17, 2011 at 10:49 am

      Thanks P. Liggett…I know this special guy who Loves you dearly!

       
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      May 17, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      Thanks! I am glad that I was able to do PJ justice through my words.

       
  13. Tashiara Little

    May 17, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    This article is awesome and it truly describes the spirit of P.J. I enjoyed reading it and I’m so proud of you P.J.- bigger things are definitley on the way.

     
  14. ***Tally***

    May 17, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    WONDERFULLY, well-written article about PJ, whom I love to refer to as Peej! You were “right on” in your description of his warm, humble, inspiring, professional demeanor and how he just bleeds positivity, non-intrusive sense of natural spirituality and success! Peej, keep up the spiritual and professional momentum and know that you have an endless support system through those you impact daily. Luv ya! :o) Ashley, GREAT choice in an article!

    ***Tally***

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      May 17, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      Thanks Tally and Tashiara! I am defintely trying to learn from people like PJ that is able to have SO MANY loving and geninue supporters. I learned a lot from him, and the comments from loved ones let me know I made a great choice to highlight him on my community and self development blog! It means a lot.

       
  15. Pamela Ollie

    May 17, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Wow! Ashley and Peejay i am so overwhelmed with joy! Ashley you have truly done a spectacular job on writing this article. And Peejay you have really been a wonderful son and you have always seemed to meet any and all expectations. Keep up the good work and i will continue to pray for you throughout your journey. Luv u!

     
  16. Regina Edwards

    May 18, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Excellent Ashley! What a wonderful article on PJ. Growing up he was called “Golden child” and it was predestinated he is. lol PJ is humble,selflessness, caring and sweet. For a good life you must obey God and treat people right, that’s why you live a positive and Graceful life. Keep up the good work you do. God Bless you with Grace forever. Love you much cousin Regina

     
    • PJ

      May 21, 2011 at 9:24 am

      Thanks Regina! LOL @ me being called the Golden Child. I will definitely continue keeping God first and everything else will fall into place.

       

Leave a Reply

 
