RSS

Oh Yeah….The S.M.A.R.T. Weight I Was Supposed to Lose….

26 Jun

Image from weightlosssolutionsweb.com

Attempting to lose weight has been a personal goal that has proven to remind me of how much I do not know. To get it out of the way, I humbly want to state that, in the 3 months I have worked to lose 25 pounds, I have only kept off 4 pounds. 

6 pounds was the total of my greatest loss. Alack of self-control, especially over the weekends, and simply, not knowing enough about foods and their effects on the body, proved to be a hinderance to my weight loss. I was ill-equipped to meet my goal. 

I am not giving up though. I am revising my timeline and I have called in reinforcements. Below are the steps I am taking to get on the right track.

–          A member of my creative vision team has provided me with 3 days worth of sample meals. Before creating the meal plans, I first sent her a list of about 6-8 meals that I regularly eat. She created the 3 day meal plan using what I am already comfortable cooking and meals that I enjoy. Her suggested meal plans focus on adding green vegetables, smaller portions, and cutting out (white) carbs.

–          Making exercise a habit. During the initial stages of my weight loss activities, I was working out about 10-20 minutes a day, some time more. After skipping experience for a few days, I ended up STOPPING altogether. I am now making it a habit to get back on the elliptical daily.

–          Lastly, I have to send my weight loss coach (member of my creative vision team) a daily journal of what I am eating. My weight loss coach is an extremely good friend of mine and she knows all to well, the in’s and out’s of my life patterns, daily routines, emotional triggers, and taste buds.Yes, I have been tempted to lie, but I realize the only person I would be cheating is myself. 

What I love most about my S.M.A.R.T. goal, despite not having made the progress that I was aiming for, is that I had a measurable outcome to keep me motivated. Most importantly, this is MY goal. It is not the goal of a client, another business, or my significant other; it is mine to adjust and make happen. 

Creating S.M.A.R.T goals for my personal development has allowed me to see drastic improvement in other areas of my life. 

How are your S.M.A.R.T. goals progressing?

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Oh Yeah….The S.M.A.R.T. Weight I Was Supposed to Lose….

  1. akmar nordin

    June 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Would it be troublesome for you to send me a list of what you eat over the last few days? I m no dietician but do have experience.

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      June 28, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      Not troublesome at all. Will forward to you in a minute. I appreciate all of the help I can get 🙂 THANKS!!!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
