RSS

Taking On A New Project/ Endeavor? Tips for Your Success

11 Jul

Image from Buy Cho Young Tea

Capitalizing on many of my talents, I have officially partnered with a friend and started my consulting business, SydneyMalcome. As I pray and work towards a lengthy and global existence for this new endeavor I have experienced considerable success during the start-up phase. I have created the following tips that are sure to help myself, and others keep going during the first leg (and probably longer) of your new project or endeavor. I will be sure to post more as time goes on.

–       Take care of your health- your physical and mental health if your organizations greatest asset.
During the start-up or busy time of your business, it may seem difficult to manage a healthy lifestyle. Now is the time to create morning, midday, and evening routines. Each routine should allow you to analyze your emotional response to the activities of the day, your mental preparedness for what is to come, and to “clear your space” of obstacles you envision affecting your progress. Examples of healthy living during your business start-up or intense project can include:  advance meal planning, updating your grocery list as you think of
household needs throughout the day, or having a relaxing cup of tea.

–       Organize your operations- Effective operations are the foundation of sustainability and allow for you and your successors to make intentional improvements. If you are like me, you may be reluctant to synchronizing your life with technological advances. Although it took me a while, once I began to implement user-friendly automated systems, I immediately noticed improved processes and increased efficiency in my business and personal operations. I am able to quickly share information with others and I feel confident when going on vacation or taking a day off of work. Google docs, google calendar, google voice, and fax to email, are all good systems that help you remain organized on the go.

–       All tasks need a rapid response – Make it a habit to respond to everyone, even if the response defines how many business days it will take to provide a complete or definite answer. Although there is a difference between urgent and important matters, you and the people/orgs you interact with may not see eye to eye on which items are important vs. urgent. Rapidly responding has proven to be respected and
appreciated by a variety of clients and colleagues. Expectations are clear for both parties, and you avoid feeling as if you are being forced to give an incomplete response for the sake of responding.

–       Commit to frequent engagement – Keeping your clients engaged (in communication or with information) serves as the dialogue that helps build your professional personal relationship. Frequent engagement helps build trust on both ends. For example, if I see information about fundraising suggestions, opportunities for start-up businesses, or other information that may be substantial to my clients personal or professional goals, I share it with them. Sharing useful information is often a click away with conveniently located share buttons on almost all internet sources.

–       Schedule free time– Scheduling free time leads to a better work-life balance. YES, I do schedule my free time. To clarify, not every single moment of free time, but boundaries or slots that allow me to have guilt-free leisure time. Many people work a day job and then spend their evening hours pursuing their goals, including starting their own businesses. Therefore, I often have to adjust my consulting schedule to meet the needs of my clients. With this being the case, I plan out my days atleast 24-36 hours in advance. This allows me to create a schedule that I am comfortable with while limiting the addition of last-minute meetings or activities. Last-minute additions can add a lot of stress and headache that I aim to avoid.

–       Don’t skimp on the preparation period– When possible, take an extra 10 minutes to do the thing that you are telling yourself can wait until tomorrow. Yes, I do try to avoid last-minute additions to my schedule, but at times they are unavoidable. Also, the last-minute add-ons are not always business, they may be family/friend emergencies, relationship emergencies, or even burn out. Over this past weekend I had intentions of completing a lot of business work, but I was invited to fun outdoor events that delayed my work. Fortunately, I was able to wake up this morning and still post this blog entry, having already prepped and prepared for success!

Like it or not, your personal practices and business practices both have a major effect on your life. By accepting this, you can create systems and routines that allow you to be in control of your life and your future success.

Please share some of your tips for success when starting a new project or endeavor.

Below is an article about that provides some tips on remaining focused while trying to reach your goals.

http://www.articlesbase.com/wellness-articles/5-tips-to-increase-focus-and-concentration-to-help-you-reach-your-fitness-goals-940382.html

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Taking On A New Project/ Endeavor? Tips for Your Success

  1. Marion Malcome

    July 11, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Great Post Partner! I am looking forward to our proseprous, purposed and balanced life together in business. I am proud of you!

    ~Marion Malcome of SydneyMalcome~

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      July 11, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      THANK YOU for being such a great inspiration and accountable business partner!

       
  2. K. Sidney

    July 15, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Glad to hear you got a teammate! The movement begins…

     
  3. kerri

    October 10, 2011 at 10:24 am

    I just found your blog, and it’s great! Your posts are useful and interesting.

    My life is 80% unstructured (which is NOT working for me) and is in need of a massive overhaul. Now I know where to come for support and ideas. Thank you!!

     
    • Ashley S.C. Walls

      October 10, 2011 at 4:19 pm

      Thanks Kerri. I hope to see more of your comments on future posts as well as updates on your progress to getting structured!

       

Leave a Reply

 
